Nominate Yourself, Your Community, or Your Colleague for a 2019 ICMA Local Government Excellence Award

Nominations due March 4, 2019.

ARTICLE | Jan 15, 2019

ICMA highlights outstanding contributions to the local government management profession through its annual Local Government Excellence Awards Program. This program enables local government professionals and local government programs to receive recognition.

Professional Awards are presented to individuals for:

  • Career excellence
  • Development of new talent
  • Excellence in leadership as an assistant (regardless of title)
  • Early career leadership
  • Academic contributions to the profession.

Outstanding Local Government Programs are recognized in these areas:

  • Community Diversity and Inclusion
  • Community Health and Safety
  • Community Partnerships
  • Community Sustainability
  • Strategic Leadership and Governance.

Nominations are accepted from both U.S. and nternational jurisdictions

Program nominations are divided by jurisdiction size. Communities with a population of 10,000 or less are strongly encouraged to apply. Students are encouraged to nominate a professor for the Academic Award.

Submit your nomination online!

Take a moment to consider which of your colleagues has made a significant difference in their community or to the profession; or has your community implemented an innovative or successful program you would like to nominate? Visit the website for details and instructions. Then submit your nomination(s) online by March 4, 2019.


Award recipients will be recognized during ICMA’s 105th Annual Conference in Nashville, Tennessee, October 20-23, 2019, highlighted online, and featured in a special awards issue of ICMA’s PM magazine.


You may also be interested in