Honorary Member Award

This award is for an individual outside the profession of local government management because of their distinguished contributions.


Honorary membership in ICMA is awarded to an individual outside of the profession of local government management because of his or her distinguished public service and contributions to the improvement and strengthening of local government. 

Individuals eligible for Honorary membership include, but are not limited to, academic leaders, elected officials, and civic leaders. Criteria include:

  • Contributions to strengthening the structure of local government.
  • Leadership in increasing citizen understanding of the governance and management of local government.
  • Initiatives that brought about improvement and development of local government managers.
  • Programs, writing, or general career contributions that have enhanced the responsiveness and effectiveness of local government.

In summary, the candidate must have made a considerable contribution either to the improvement of local government and local government management or to the public's understanding and appreciation of responsive and well-managed local government.

A nomination for Honorary Membership can be made by any voting member of ICMA. Nomination forms are available here and should be e-mailed to jlee@icma.org.   Available here is a list of past Honorary Member conferments, including 2018 recipient Alan Bojorquez, Bojorquez Law Firm. 

Honorary membership is conferred by a vote of the association’s Corporate members, and nominations are solicited annually in the spring.  In June, a vote of the ICMA Executive Board determines which nominee or nominees will be proposed to members for formal acceptance by a vote of the membership.  Recipients are honored during the ICMA Annual Conference.

Contact Joyce Lee, Senior Program Manager, at 202/962-3625 or jlee@icma.org with questions or for more information.